Yet Deeper, Yet Darker

Hear Me Cry

A great deceiver I have become,
Though so unwitting am I now.
I hide behind a painted mask
And keep to the edge of this maddening crowd.

A great deceiver I have become,
Telling them all that I’m just fine,
While behind my mask I grimace,
Trying so hard not to cry.

A great deceiver I have become,
They know not my true soul.
They see only my painted mask
Covered with colors so cold.

A great deceiver I have become,
Keeping my heart so safe and secret.
They believe this lie I tell them,
And even I nearly believe it.

A great deceiver I have become,
Not telling them my thoughts or feelings.
To myself I always keep,
While lonelier my heart is beating.

A great deceiver I have become,
And deceptive is how I fear I’ll die.
All I want is to tell my story,
And have someone, just one, to hear me cry.

Hide The Scar

Escape from this place, go now,
Run as fast as you can, run far.
Don’t stop, don’t ever look back,
Zip your jacket up, hide the scar.

So deep in your heart were you wounded,
So deep in your soul was the knife,
So run far away now, escape,
For this place with terror is rife.

Zip your jacket up, hide the scar,
Look ahead, don’t stray from the road.
Though this way be narrow and brambled,
The wider path terror bodes.

Run as fast as you can, run far,
Hide your heart, hide your soul in your chest.
Difficult the journey, so treacherous the road,
But please promise you’ll try your best.

Hide your heart, hide your soul in your chest,
Keep away from the prying eyes.
Give no regard to the sickening threats
And ignore their heartless cries.

Zip your jacket up, hide the scar
Left to mar your once-perfect skin.
Hide the mark, the terrible wound,
Let it heal carefully, from within.

So deep in your heart were you wounded
By the dagger, so sharp and swift.
So terribly through your soul did it tear,
Leaving a deep bloodied rift.

Look ahead, don’t stray from the road.
Stay awake, don’t drift off to sleep.
Run as fast as you can, run far,
For your promise to live you must keep.

Zip your jacket up, hide the scar,
The rift that ravaged your soul.
Keep your eyes alive, keep them bright,
Don’t let them blacken to coal.

Escape from this place, go now,
Keep quiet, don’t make a sound.
Don’t let them know of your sorrow,
For they’ll bury your soul in the ground.

Look ahead, don’t stray from the road,
Nearly safe are you, to a new land.
Hurry on now, run faster yet,
Here I am, love, come take my hand.

Zip your jacket up, hide the scar
Left to mar your once-perfect skin.
Hide your heart, hide your soul in your chest,
Let your soul heal now from within.

Keep your eyes alive, keep them bright,
Don’t let them into death drift.
So terribly did the dagger wound your poor soul,
Leaving a deep bloodied rift.

Run as fast as you can, run far,
Don’t stop, don’t ever look back.
Stay alive, fix your eyes ahead,
Stay away from the widening black.

So deep in your heart were you wounded
By the dagger so terribly violent.
Look ahead, don’t stray from the road,
Be swift, be fast, be silent.

Zip your jacket up, hide the scar,
The rift that ripped open your soul.
Don’t close your eyes, don’t sleep now,
Or you’ll be lost in the dark and cold.

Keep quiet, don’t make a sound.
So close are you now to the end.
Rest your heart, rest your soul so weary,
For it soon shall begin to mend.

Please promise to try your best,
Though I know you struggle to stand.
So close are you now to this safety,
Here I am, love, come take my hand.

Don’t stop, don’t ever look back,
Leave your terrible past behind.
Look ahead, don’t stray from the road,
Don’t remember, don’t recall, don’t rewind.

Zip your jacket up, hide the scar,
Hide your heart, hide your soul in your chest.
Run as fast as you can, run far,
Forget the old life, simply jest.

So deep in your heart were you wounded
By the dagger, by the plunging knife.
So terribly through your soul did it tear,
So nearly ending your life.

Zip your jacket up, hide the scar,
The rift that so ruined your soul.
Keep your eyes alive, keep them bright,
Even though you’re now lost in the cold.

Here I am, love, please take my hand,
Though even now you fall into the deep.
Now lost are you in the dark place,
The forest where the angels weep.

Zip your jacket up, hide the scar.
I watch helpless as further you drift.
The mark that mars your once-perfect skin
Is now naught but a dying kiss.

©The Wild Poesy, 2012-2015. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

Yet Deeper, Yet Darker

Leave a Reply

